RSS Feed

Boston Trauma: The Perpetuation of Nursing as a Vocation

florencenightingale

 

After reading the USA today and Boston Globe articles concerning the trauma nurses that cared for Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, I am left with some emotions.

The first is gratitude for no longer servicing this vocation. First and foremost in nursing, at least where I went to school, you care for the patient as you would your family. Per these articles, it sounds like these nurses did the status quo and were busy chatting up the Feds.  Not exactly how you would want your family to be treated.

Second, in my opinion, it was a breech of ethics to even give an interview to the press. This is attention seeking behavior for those that want to capitalize on the mob’s blood lust for information of a guilty before proven innocent 19 year old.

justice

These nurses are the poster children for why nursing will always be considered a vocation instead of a profession. A vocation is the work in which a person is employed. A profession is a calling requiring specialized knowledge and often long and intensive academic preparation. And despite the myths, nursing school only prepares you for a board exam. Real nursing is learned by caring, hands on. It is not automaton; and cannot be recreated by machinery.

I will state, however, that I am at least relieved they did not violate Dzhokhar Tsarnaev’s HIPPA rights. That’s the only positive thing I can say here.

 

dove

Nurses Oath:

I solemnly pledge myself before God and in the presence of this assembly, to pass my life in purity and to practice my profession faithfully. I will abstain from whatever is deleterious and mischievous, and will not take or knowingly administer any harmful drug. I will do all in my power to maintain and elevate the standard of my profession, and will hold in confidence all personal matters committed to my keeping and all family affairs coming to my knowledge in the practice of my calling. With loyalty will I endeavor to aid the physician in his work, and devote myself to the welfare of those committed to my care.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/05/20/newser-dzhokhar-tsarnaev-nurses/2326539/

http://www.bostonglobe.com/lifestyle/health-wellness/2013/05/18/beth-israel-deaconess-trauma-nurses-treated-bombing-suspect-like-any-other-patient-almost/6m6i4CHj1ZFeieJuGQ884M/story.html?camp=newsletter

One response »

  1. Once again another fine blog piece, it’s going right in my favorite’s folder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

